Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Salmon

“Lay your fillet away from you when frying”

So thats a general rule when frying anything but why I personally wish to emphasise it is because I learnt it the hard way. I do recall an occasion when I was younger and the fish I was trying to fry slipped from my hand and crashed in (way too much) oil with me ending up with what looked like many birth marks all up the side of my arm. If you read only that on this article then it’s a success to me.

This is a follow-up from the previous post where I prepared more of the tomatoes than I needed for the bruschetta. One of the issues I have with recipes I read is the amount of waste that comes with not quite using all the ingredients you buy. Using my previous post as an example the cherry tomatoes I bought came in bags of 250g but I only used 100g for the recipe. Hence I do try (and often fail) to plan in advance what I might use extra  ingredients on.

In this case the extra tomato/basil is used as a substitute for a basic tomato sauce. I find using the cherry tomatoes creates a light dish which contrasts the typical thick sauces you might put on your pasta.

img_0104

There is only three elements with this dish to consider; preparing the tomato/basil, boiling the pasta and pan frying your salmon. If you already have the first part done this makes for a very convenient meal you can swiftly create. It would’ve been convienant for me too if i had realised the fillets I bought had not been descaled…

salmon-season

In order to get that extra crispy skin, dry the fillets with a paper towel and then season the fish to bring out the flavour.

salmon-placing

Please remember to place the fillets away from you to avoid any oil splashing.

With the salmon finished all that is left to do is to heat up the tomatoes then stir in your spaghetti. You dont even need to worry too much with draining the spaghetti as the cooking liquid will go well with the juice of the tomatoes.

salmon-closeup

Ingredients                                                                             Costings

  • 400g Cherry Tomatoes – quartered                                   £0.84
  • Handful Basil – finely chopped                                            £0.35
  • 1 tbls Oil                                                                                    –
  • 2 x Fillets of Salmon * – descaled/deboned                      £5.12
  • 200g spaghetti *                                                                    £0.23
  • Salt & Pepper

Total Cost for 2 servings ~ £6.54

*As stated previously, this is designed as a simple adaptable dish and as such feel free to replace the salmon and spaghetti with any meat or variety of pasta you may have in your home. I believe I first did this with tinned salmon (not fancy but convenient and perfectly edible).

Method

  1. Combine the quartered tomatoes with the chopped basil and set aside.
  2. Cook the pasta in seasoned boiling water
  3. In a pan heat the oil on a medium heat
  4. Place the salmon in the pan skin side down and gently press. Cook for 2 mins on each side (dependant on size) until golden brown.
  5. Remove the salmon and drain excess oil using kitchen paper
  6. Add the tomato and basil to the same pan and heat for 30 seconds
  7. Add the cooked pasta into the pan. Season and mix together
  8. Divide pasta between plates, top each with a fillet of salmon, garnish with basil and serve.
3 thoughts on “Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Salmon

Leave a Reply

